Birth record is an example of a vital record, and among all vital records, a birth registration record is a must for everyone. It is the responsibility of the parents to legally register their children to the government, and in return, the child will be eligible to the benefits that come with it.
Among the benefits of being registered include that the person would be eligible for healthcare, education, can provide inheritance, and birth records create a permanent record of existence. Birth records are kept in safety by the government and they are the main repositories for vital records such as birth records. In the state of Arkansas, you can procure these documents at the Arkansas Department of Health, Vital Records Section. The Arkansas Vital Records Section is open from Mondays through Fridays from 8:00am to 4:00pm except for holidays. Arkansas has records of birth certificates dating from February 1, 1914 through the present time.
The state of Arkansas statute 20-18-35 states that anyone, the registrant or people who are related to the registrant may obtain a copy of your birth records. Also people who are designated representatives of the registrant – may it be for academic or research purposes – may procure the birth records as long as they demonstrate the right to the records. Also records are not open to the public unless 100 years have passed since the occurrence of the event.
If you meet the said criteria you may now request a copy of your birth records. The registrant can download and print the birth certificate application form which can be found on their website. After filling it up, you must present a copy of a valid government issued photo identification card. Upon mailing or submission of the request form, you must also state your purpose on why you wish to obtain a copy of such important registers. The cost of a birth record is $12.00 for the first copy and $10.00 for each additional copy of the same birth record that is ordered at the same time. If no record is found or no copy is made, state law requires that we keep $12.00 for a search fee. You will receive a refund of any amount you paid over the required $12.00 search fee. You can pay this via check, cash or money orders made out to the Arkansas Department of Health. And remember never to include the cash when sending the mail. Most certificate requests can be processed in the same day for walk-in services.
Also the Arkansas Department of Health is offering a much more convenient way for you to procure your birth record via online express request service. You can visit their website and pay via credit card. This method would save you valuable time, expenses, and effort. You can expect them to mail the document to your home on the same day as they received your request. Also there are other online repositories that can help you procure your birth records. You can simply visit their websites and follow the methods listed on their websites. Alternative record providers can offer the same service for a much lesser fee and provide you with any Arkansas birth records you need right away. That’s how fast the turnaround is for the modern way of record retrieval.
Birth Records Arkansas
To get a hold of any birth records in the state of Arkansas, the steps below can be followed:
- Download and fill up the
- Present a copy of a legal government issued photo identification card
- Pay the corresponding fees
- For online express request service, visit their
Arkansas Birth Certificate
Outline below are the resources which you can refer to should you wish to obtain any Arkansas birth records: