Delaware State Bureau of Investigation is the central database for all the arrest and criminal reports which occurred during a long span of time and even up to these days. The office has served many responsibilities including the review of requests on criminal history check, update the sex offender registry, quality control of crime documents and also the fingerprint examination. The Profession Licensing Section has existed to help the Bureau of Investigation carry some load to make public service even better.
So, how to acquire a copy of a criminal record in Delaware? The policy states that the search can only be accomplished through fingerprints. In regards to the requirements, you will only need to present a valid identification like a driver’s license or a State ID. There is no need for you to have the security card or a birth certificate to get it going. Juveniles are required by law to bring in with them their parents or guardian to allow the criminal history. They only need to present a school ID or a driver’s license in order to proceed with the check.
There are two documents which you can order from the government of Delaware. If you are to collect information about the State of Delaware criminal background check then you will have to pay an amount of $52.50. On the other hand, you will pay $69.00 if you wanted to do searches based on State and Federal Criminal Background Check databases. The mode of payment can be made through cash except in Sussex County, credit cards or debit cards, certified checks, money orders, or company checks made out to Delaware State Police. Note that personal checks and American Express are not acceptable.
More so, with the high crime statistics on sex offenders, the state has created an Internet-based Police Sex Offender Registry so anybody who is a stranger and who is acting suspiciously in the community can be background checked immediately using the database. So, the core purposes would be to register all the sex offenders, notify the people on the identities of these offenders and allow the residents in Delaware to verify certain information about someone. Based on current database, there are 3,500 registered offenders in the State. The pieces of information about them are up-to-date and should serve as a credible resource for the citizens to make a reference to while doing a history check on a person.
Apart from having access to these reports from the state’s databases, arrest and criminal reports in Delaware are also obtainable using an online records repository nowadays. This is a completely independent source of information on legal records where you only have to pay a certain amount of fee in return for the types of records which you request. The only challenging part would be the finding part in which you need to look for legitimate and official documents related to criminal reports. This approach is hassle-free as you no longer need to wait in line or comply with all the formalities required in the government. So, it becomes an option for the people in Delaware to explore into in the effort to acquire results on criminal records checks.
Delaware Criminal Records
The procedure to obtain a copy of a criminal record is easy. Just follow these steps:
Records in Delaware are obtained through fingerprints
Delaware Criminal Background Check costs $52.50
State and Federal Criminal Background Check costs $69.00
Payment can be made through credit or debit cards, certified checks, money orders or company checks made out to Delaware State Police
The State Bureau of Identification office is the main in-charge in the administration of arrest and criminal reports. Thus, questions relating to such can be addressed to such office.
State of Delaware Arrest Records
Residents in the state may also do further searches from the following links: